Decker & Rat Terrier Chat

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Decker & Rat Terrier Chat

We would like to welcome everyone to our forum, this is a place to come and share photographs, and share our experiences. Rat Terriers in general are a wonderful dog and the Decker Terrier takes that a step further as a larger, hardy family dog.

+2
Kim
SixMileFarm
6 posters

Addisons Disease

SixMileFarm
    SixMileFarm

Addisons Disease Empty Addisons Disease

Post  SixMileFarm Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:05 pm

I understand that it is not common for breeders to discuss health problems among their breed but I am looking for anyone with experience dealing with Addisons Disease in Deckers or Rat Terriers. My wonderful Decker was diagnosed last winter and I am still learning to effectively manage this disease. Unfortunately my dog's ability to handle stress is compromised and we struggle a bit. We have been competing in Nose Work (timed scent detection competitions) with a fair amount of success but I would love advice on helping him cope with the stress of competition so that we can all enjoy it more. He is an absolutely gorgeous dog who stops traffic wherever we go but stress causes behavioral issues that are unacceptable.

Any one with experience out there who is willing to discuss this topic?

Kim
    Kim

Addisons Disease Empty Re: Addisons Disease

Post  Kim Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:37 pm

Hello,

Yes, sadly Addisons disease does exist in the Decker Terrier of today. I know of specific bloodlines that do carry for it and have talked to several people with dogs affected. It is not the end of the line though there are plenty of treatment options available and a genetic marker will be available soon so that we may test our dogs.

Thank you for posting and sharing.

Kim

Seegmiller Decker Terriers
    Christina
    Christina
    Admin
    Admin

Post  Christina Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:41 pm